Shop

Venice and Antiquity: The Venetian Sense of the Past
July 13, 2015
Margaret's Recipes: From Her Tea Rooms
July 21, 2015

Dark Fire

£8.99

The second Shardlake novel in C. J. Sansom’s remarkable historical crime series.

In stock

SKU: 9781447285847 Category:
Description

Winner of the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, Dark Fire is the second thrilling book in C. J. Sansom’s number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

‘When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival’ – Sunday Times
?Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time’ – Andrew Taylor, Spectator

England, 1540: Matthew Shardlake, believing himself out of favour with Thomas Cromwell, is busy trying to maintain his legal practice and keep a low profile. But his involvement with a murder case, defending a girl accused of brutally murdering her young cousin, brings him once again into contact with the king’s chief minister ? and a new assignment . . .

The secret of Greek Fire, the legendary substance with which the Byzantines destroyed the Arab navies, has been lost for centuries. Now an official of the Court of Augmentations has discovered the formula in the library of a dissolved London monastery. When Shardlake is sent to recover it, he finds the official and his alchemist brother horribly murdered ? the formula has disappeared.

Now Shardlake must follow the trail of Greek Fire across Tudor London, while trying at the same time to prove his young client’s innocence. But very soon he discovers nothing is as it seems . . .

An internationally bestselling phenomenon, this gripping historical series continues with Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

Additional information
Weight 0.426 lbs
Dimensions 19.7 × 13 × 4 in
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

580

Language

English

Edition

|Reprint

Dewey

823.92 (edition:23)

Readership

General – Trade / Code: K

Reviews (0)

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dark Fire”

Your email address will not be published.

Buy now