Shop

Anne Of Green Gables
May 1, 1997
Count Of Monte Cristo
November 5, 1997

Seven Pillars Of Wisdom

£3.99

Written between 1919 and 1926, this text tells of the campaign aganist the Turks in the Middle East, encompassing gross acts of cruelty and revenge, ending in a welter of stink and corpses in a Damascus hospital.

In stock

Description

With an Introduction by Angus Calder. As Angus Calder states in his introduction to this edition, ‘Seven Pillars of Wisdom is one of the major statements about the fighting experience of the First World War’. Lawrence’s younger brothers, Frank and Will, had been killed on the Western Front in 1915. Seven Pillars of Wisdom, written between 1919 and 1926, tells of the vastly different campaign against the Turks in the Middle East – one which encompasses gross acts of cruelty and revenge and ends in a welter of stink and corpses in the disgusting ‘hospital’ in Damascus. Seven Pillars of Wisdom is no Boys Own Paper tale of Imperial triumph, but a complex work of high literary aspiration which stands in the tradition of Melville and Dostoevsky, and alongside the writings of Yeats, Eliot and Joyce.

Additional information
Weight 0.45 lbs
Dimensions 19.8 × 12.9 × 3.5 in
Author

Publisher

Imprint

Cover

Paperback

Pages

704

Language

English

Edition
Dewey
Readership

General – Trade / Code: K